Highfields School is currently seeking new individuals to join our Governing Board as a co-opted or local authority member. For more information, please click here. A PowerPoint detailing the roles can also be found here.


The Governing Body can access their Sharepoint area, by clicking here.


The role of the Governors is to help the school provide the best possible education for students by:

• Setting the school’s values, vision and strategic aims, agreeing plans and policies, and making creative use of resources

• Monitoring and evaluating performance, acting as a critical friend to the Headteacher to support and challenge them in managing the school

• Ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs.


The Governing Body can consist of a maximum of 16 Governors, split as follows, each with a term of office of four years:

• 4 Parent Governors

• 1 LA Governor

• 1 Staff Governor

• 1 Headteacher

• 9 Co-opted Governors


Most queries about the management of Highfields School and the progress of any individual child should be directed in the first instance to the school itself, but we or other Governors will be happy to answer any more general questions, particularly in relation to the role of the Governing Body. Letters directed to us should be sent to the Clerk to Governors at school for our attention.


More Information:

2017/18 Annual Governors Report to Parents and Staff


Name Governor Type Start Date

End Date


Mr A Marsh Headteacher 1st September 2018    
Miss A Ellson Co-Opted 17th January 2019 16th January 2023 Chair
Miss J Rogers Co-Opted 5th July 2016 4th July 2020
Mr P Steeples Co-Opted 22nd September 2016 21st September 2020 Vice Chair
Mr R Atkinson Co-Opted 26th September 2019 25th September 2023  
Mrs A O'Donoghue Co-Opted 6th February 2020 5th February 2024  
Mrs A Beesley Co-Opted 25th June 2020 24th June 2024  
Mr E Coxhead Co-Opted 25th June 2020 24th June 2024  
Miss L Dence Staff 14th March 2019 13th March 2023
Mr D Matthews Parent 26th June 2018 25th June 2022
Mr N Newberry Parent 5th July 2016 4th July 2020
Mr D Holmes Parent 26th September 2019 25th September 2023


Governor Link Areas


Link Area Link Governor

Areas of Interest

Key Policies

Finance / Resources / Personnel Mr D Holmes SFVS, budget, staffing updates, staff attendance Charging, Teachers Pay
Standards: Curriculum (intent, implementation, impact) Mr T Smith Teaching, learning, exaimnation results, curriculum, extra-curricular offer, pupil premium strategy Performance Management
Inclusion (SEND behaviour / attendance) Mr R Atkinson  SEND funding, Children in Care SEND, Disability Equality, Accessibility Plan, Attendance, School Discipline & Behaviour
Safeguarding / Health & Safety / Wellbeing Mrs A O'Donoghue  Early help offer, single central record, safeguarding training Admissions, Child Protection, Medicine, Collective Worship, Health & Safety
Leadership and Strategy Miss A Ellson Strategic planning, KPIs Complaints Procedure


Resignations during the last 12 months:

Mr T Smith - Co-Opted (25.06.2020) 

Ms J Lane - Co-Opted (30.04.2020)

Mrs S Evans - Local Authority (21.01.2020)

Mrs J Birtwistle - Co-Opted (28.11.2019) 

Mrs R Stone - Co-Opted (23.07.2019)


End of term of office during the last 12 months: